Skip to content

Models

Create a new model from scratch

Start by clicking on "Create" and create a new model with a name, a URL and preferably a description.

Button Create model

Create model dialog

Once you have your empty model, you should add content to it. Start by creating (or importing) one or several Namespaces.

Essentially, all models in EntryScape Models consists of Classes and properties or Forms and fields, or a combination of all of it. Next, you can either create Classes and Properties or create Forms and Fields.

Menu items Namespaces, Classes and Properties, Forms and Fields

Import an external model

You can import (copy) an external vocabulary model, e.g. Dublin Core Metadata Terms, into an empty model in EntryScape Models. Before you import a model/classes/properties in EntryScape, make sure that it doesn't already exist in EntryScape by using the search function and search for it, to avoid making duplicates.

Import form templates

To import models with form templates and fields click on the button "Import RDForms bundle".

Import form button

Next, link to or upload your form template (JSON) file with forms and fields.

Import form template

Import classes and properties from an RDF Schema

To import classes and properties from an existing RDF Schema or Turtle format, click on the button "Import RDFS".

Import RDFS

Next, provide a link to or upload your RDF/XML file with classes and properties into the model.

Import classes and properties from RDF Schema

The result will be visible in the overview of your imported vocabulary model, with the number of imported classes and properties etc.

Imported vocabulary model

If you click on "Classes", you see all the imported classes belonging to the vocabulary model. You can click on the information icon to see detailed information about the class.

Imported external classes

Reuse an existing model

You can reuse a model that already exists in EntryScape Models, by clicking the Reuse button.

Button Reuse model

There are two different ways to reuse a model: You can either reuse an existing model with new, clean versions of the profile forms and links to all dependent classes, properties etc in the source model, or you can create a standalone copy of an existing model, without any links back to the source model.

Reuse model dialog

Edit model

You can edit your model information, either by clicking the edit pen in your list with models, or click the "Edit" button on the model overview page.

Edit pen for model

Edit button for model

Then you can change Title, Description and Identifier for your model.

Edit Model information

Only users with manager or admin permissions can see the various editing buttons for a model. Ordinary members has very limited button options on the model overview page.

Limited button options for ordinary members

If you want to edit classes, properties, forms or fields belonging to your model, use the left menu.

Left menu

Lock model

If you want to make sure your model is not edited by mistake, you can lock your model with the "Lock status" switch down to the right on the overview page. This is especially important if the model is expected to be reused in various ways. Only admins and group managers can lock and unlock a locked model.

When locked, buttons for creation and editing are disabled and a "Locked" tag appears under the model title on the overview page, as well as in the list of models.

Locked model, overview page

Locked model, list of models

It is easy to unlock the model by clicking the "Lock status" switch again.

Permissions and sharing settings

In EntryScape Models, a user can be either a group manager or a member. When a user creates a model, he or she automatically becomes the group manager for that model. A group manager can give other users access to a model as well as change their permissions. If you don't have access to a model, you need to contact the group manager for that model in your organization.

To give another user access to a model, go to the model overview page and click the "Sharing settings" button.

Button Sharing settings

Then you can add a user by clicking on "Add user to group". You can also change permissions for a user, to either a member or a group manager, by clicking on the permissions icon to the left of their email address. Only group managers can add or remove other users and change their permissions. Ordinary members can't give other users access to a model or change permissions.

Add user and change permissions

To remove access to a model for a user, click on the three-point menu and choose "Remove"

Remove user access to model

Cleanup model

The cleanup functionality was introduced in EntryScape 3.20 and consists of two different actions: "Find and remove unused" fields, forms, classes and properties, and "Detect and reuse" classes and proporties that can be reused. Only managers of the model or users with admin permissions can use the cleanup function. Click the "Cleanup" button on the model overview page to start.

Cleanup button on the overview page

Next, you get to choose between "Find and remove unused" or "Detect and reuse".

Cleanup choices Find and remove, and Detect and reuse

Find and remove unused

EntryScape Models can list fields, forms, classes and properties in a model that are unused in the model, as in not connected to anything else. You can simply remove them by clicking the check boxes and then click "Remove", hence keeping your model clean.

Cleanup choices Find and remove, and Detect and reuse

Detect and reuse

You can also detect classes and properties that are available to reuse in your model from other models, rather than creating copies of the same class or property. Simply choose "Detect and reuse" instead and EntryScape will list classes and properties that can be reused in this model.

Detect and reuse option

First you get a list with the models with content that could be reused in your model.

Models to reuse from

After choosing a model, you get a list of reusable parts from that model. Simply check a checkbox and click the button "Reuse".

Parts to be reused

Remove model

If you want to remove/delete a model, click on the "Remove" button on the model overview page.

Remove button for model

You then get to confirm that you want to remove the model.

Confirmation dialog, remove model